Resisting Hibernation

I am finally starting to feel a bit more like myself after the election and all the emotion surrounding it. I don’t think I’ve ever felt so punched in the gut by an election before.  Thanksgiving was a bit of a whirlwind of obligations.  Now I find myself waking up in a Los Angeles that has turned cool and dark.  The houses in my neighborhood are all being decorated and illuminated.  I’ve an urge to sit in my living room in my new slippers, drinking eggnog.  In the next few weeks, I’m planning to share some of my favorite recipes for Christmas cookies, though first I must find out where I can buy a jar of Italian wild cherries.

In the meantime, I continue to work on the endless knitting that is my brother’s long overdue fisherman’s sweater. I’ve got a bit of holiday knitting to follow it as well, so I expect it will be a busy time.  In my gloom, I had decided to forgo everything holiday related, but I’m apparently hard wired to make things pleasant as the darkness settles in.

I’ve been reading Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life by Ruth Franklin and am enjoying it tremendously. I’ve read and re-read Shirley Jackson’s books for so many years that sometimes she seems more like one of the voices in my head than an actual person.  It’s delightful that there is such a sharp assessment of her life and work.  Although I’ve read pretty much all there is to read, I will probably be taking another dive into her books in the new year.

The days continue to draw in, but I am trying to resist the urge to hibernate.

Leave a Reply

